LEAF APPRECIATION RECEPTION AND AWARDS RECOGNITION

The LEAF Board recognizes that we would be unable to fulfill our Mission of supporting District 742 activities without the contributions of many volunteers as well as generous charitable donations. In November of 2004, the Annual LEAF Appreciation Reception and Awards Recognition was begun to recognize the people who have made special contributions to LEAF and the District 742 activities program through their tireless service or philanthropic contributions.

The first LEAF Appreciation Reception was held in the home of Steve and Paulette Schwegman. In 2005 and 2006 the event was moved to the Paramount Theatre and held in conjunction with a scheduled performance at the Theatre. Invited guest received hors devours and refreshments followed by an awards program. In the fall of 2008, the venue was changed to Tech or Apollo – whichever school is performing a Fall Musical (they rotate). Following the recognition, guests are invited to attend the Fall Musical Performance.

With the addition of sponsors in 2006, the appreciation reception has begun a small fundraiser for the LEAF Endowment.

LEAF Appreciation Reception Goals

- Thanks to donors
- e Honor volunteers
- Publicity for LEAF within the St. Cloud Community
- Cultivation of Loyalty for the LEAF Mission

Past Awards Recipients

Phil Welter Volunteer Service Award

- 2004 Ken Kelsey
- 2005 John and Kris Scharenbroich
- 2006 Jean Sonsteby
- 2007 Gary Zwack
- 2008 Bob and Sue Hanks
- 2009 Denny Smith
- 2010 Robert Feigh
- 2011 Patrick Henry
- 2012 Wayne Schluchter

George and Shirley Torrey Award for Charitable Giving

- 2004 Mike Faber and Viking Coca Cola
- 2005 Joanne and Paul Dorsher
 - St. Cloud Times, Bill Albrecht, Publisher
- 2006 Don and Jan Watkins
 - Regent Broadcasting
- 2007 Tom and Joyce Schlough
 - Lamar Outdoor Advertising
- 2008 Barclay and Janet Carriar
 - Don Farleo Advertising and Design: Don & Diane Farleo
- 2009 St. Cloud Lions Club, Roberta Schiel, President
- 2010 Dick Anderson, Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites
- 2011 Patty Yarbrough, McKay's Family Auto KDV, Loren Viere
- 2012 Mark & Angie Benson/Benson Funeral Home Jason Bernick, Bernick's Beverages & Bernick's Family Foundation
- Coaching/Advising Excellence Award
- 2005 Ron Kaczor Tech Football and Track
 - John Lieser Apollo Golf
- 2006 Bendix Apollo Speech / Drama Dave Hoeller – Tech Gymnastics, Cross Country and Track
- 2007 Mike Bakken Apollo Adapted Athletics Bruce Woidyla – South Junior High Coach
- 2008 Mick Boatz Tech Math Team Coach and Activities Supporter Sue Williams – Apollo Swim and Track Coach
- 2009 Thea Stockinger District Elementary Orchestra Director

Gregg Martig – Tech Football and Baseball Coach Tim Bengtson – Apollo Wrestling and Cross Country Coach

- 2010 Jason Parker Apollo Music & Drama Director Kevin Kiffmeyer – Tech Music & Musical Director
- 2011 Paul Bates Tech Tennis Coach Megan Pederson – Apollo Softball Coach
- 2012 Cynthia Kaecher, Apollo Speech/Drama Advisor Karmin Schraw, Tech Speech Coach

Instructional Excellence Award

- 2009 St. Cloud Education Association, Mary Broderick, President
- 2010 Meredith Boucher, North Junior High Teachers Denise Huebsch, Madison Elementary School Teacher
- 2011 District 742 Advanced Placement Program and Teachers
- 2012 Mark Weimer, St. Cloud Robotics Competition Advisor Jennifer Doom, Tech HOSA Program Coach Bill Garceau, Tech Skills USA Program Coach

Lifetime Service Award

2009 Phil Welter, LEAF Founder and former Executive Director 2012 Don Watkins, longtime LEAF advisor, Board member and supporter